|
| | |||||||
|
Welcome to the scubish.com - Scuba Diving Forum forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
| |||
| |||
| Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? The reason I ask is that what looks like a badly configured web bot at agni.nut.roche.com is hammering the Maldives trip reports on my website every 10 minutes or less and has been all month. And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof and I have to pay for it. Jason -- See http://www.scuba-addict.co.uk/ for UK diving reports including trips to Plymouth, Weymouth, Falmouth, Exmouth and Scapa Flow |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
| In article <pan.2003.09.15.09.35.52.772619@ntlworld.com>, jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com says... > Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? > The reason I ask is that what looks like a badly configured web bot at > agni.nut.roche.com is hammering the Maldives trip reports on my website > every 10 minutes or less and has been all month. > > And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof > and I have to pay for it. > > Jason > > Suggest you rename the page and monitor. Dave -- ----- + ----- + ----- The internet is too big to fit in your recycle bin Do you REALLY want to delete it? ----- + ----- + ----- |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
| "Jason" <jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com> wrote in message news > Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? > The reason I ask is that what looks like a badly configured web bot at > agni.nut.roche.com is hammering the Maldives trip reports on my website > every 10 minutes or less and has been all month. > > And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof > and I have to pay for it. > add it to robots.txt and see it no more |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
| On Mon, 15 Sep 2003 11:14:01 +0100, beanie wrote: >> And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof >> and I have to pay for it. >> > add it to robots.txt and see it no more I can't filter it on the IP address though, can I? I don't really want to block Google and I certainly don't want to move it. Jason -- http://www.scuba-addict.co.uk/ for the UK viz database and trip reports about Australia, the Caribbean, Spain, the Maldives, Bali and the UK |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
| In article <Chg9b.2518$eK3.362@news-binary.blueyonder.co.uk>, beanie <nospam@diving.ukdiver.com> wrote: > >"Jason" <jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com> wrote in message >news >> Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? >> The reason I ask is that what looks like a badly configured web bot at >> agni.nut.roche.com is hammering the Maldives trip reports on my website >> every 10 minutes or less and has been all month. >> >> And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof >> and I have to pay for it. >> >add it to robots.txt and see it no more They don't all obey that... I've firewalled our some robots because of this. Gordon |
|
#6
| |||
| |||
| "Jason" <jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com> wrote in message news > Plus it doesn't seem to check robots.txt anyway or I'd see a request for > that too. Have you tried emailing someone there? I was getting hammered by Henry until I got drunk & sent them a really sweary email... What http server are you using? Apache can deny access on a per-IP basis. Vic. [1] Despite what their web page says, at the time they were ignoring robots.txt. -- Posted via Mailgate.ORG Server - http://www.Mailgate.ORG |
|
#7
| |||
| |||
| On Mon, 15 Sep 2003 10:59:31 +0000, Vic wrote: > Have you tried emailing someone there? Yes, but you know how successful emails to postmasters are. > I was getting hammered by Henry until I got drunk & sent them a really > sweary email... > > What http server are you using? Apache can deny access on a per-IP > basis. Just found something to do this. So I should now get a nice big error log rather than access log. Jason -- http://www.scuba-addict.co.uk/ for Aussie diving reports including the wrecks of the SS Yongala, Lady Bowen and the HMAS Swan |
|
#8
| |||
| |||
| "Jason" <jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com> wrote in message news:<pan.2003.09.15.09.35.52.772619@ntlworld.com> ... > Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? > The reason I ask is that what looks like a badly configured web bot at > agni.nut.roche.com is hammering the Maldives trip reports on my website > every 10 minutes or less and has been all month. > > And as you can imagine it's sending my bandwidth usage through the roof > and I have to pay for it. > Seems to be a one-man job. Registration Service Provided By: F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG Contact: yves.goulnik@roche.com Domain name- roche.com Name servers- NS1.ROCHE.COM ATHENE.SYNTEX.COM HLRNS1.ROCHE.COM AENEAS.SYNTEX.COM Creation date- 1992-04-17 00:00:00 Expiration date- 2008-04-18 00:00:00 Registrant Contact- F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG Yves Goulnik (yves.goulnik@roche.com) +41.0041616881148 FAX- +41.0041616881524 Grenzacherstrasse Basel, 4070 CH Administrative Contact- F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG Yves Goulnik (yves.goulnik@roche.com) +41.0041616881148 FAX- +41.0041616881524 Grenzacherstrasse Basel, 4070 CH Billing Contact- F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG Yves Goulnik (yves.goulnik@roche.com) +41.0041616881148 FAX- +41.0041616881524 Grenzacherstrasse Basel, 4070 CH Technical Contact- F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG Global Hostmaster (global.hostmaster@roche.com) +41.0041616873400 FAX- +41.0041616873757 Grenzacherstrasse Basel, 4070 CH |
|
#9
| |||
| |||
| "Alun Harford" <alunharford@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:f890d8e3.0309150700.593270c3@posting.google.c om > "Jason" <jason.usenet.nospam@ntlworld.com> wrote in message news:<pan.2003.09.15.09.35.52.772619@ntlworld.com> ... > > Might be a bit of a long shot, but does anyone on here work for roche.com? > Seems to be a one-man job. > > Registration Service Provided By: F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG > Contact: yves.goulnik@roche.com > Alun, I'm fairly certain it's Roche Pharmecuticals. Now that Mailgate's letting me post again they're based in Welwyn Garden city in the UK. DaveA -- Posted via Mailgate.ORG Server - http://www.Mailgate.ORG |
|
#10
| |||
| |||
| Alun Harford wrote: > Seems to be a one-man job. > > Registration Service Provided By: F.Hoffmann-La Roche AG You're bloody kidding right? Roche is a multi-national company, a big multinational company, it employs 60,000 people in 150 different countries! See www.roche.com for further details... *shakes head in utter bemusement* Al. |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
| | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| duikongeval La Roche Fontaine Belgie? | M. Machiels | (Dutch) | 0 | 04-12-2007 02:32 PM |
| men at work | J.F. Brun | (French) | 3 | 04-12-2007 02:28 AM |
| Re: Best companies to work for | Douglas W \Popeye\ Frederick | Divers Hangout | 1 | 03-26-2007 08:37 PM |
| Here is the Bar assosciation at work | Scott | Divers Hangout | 21 | 03-26-2007 07:02 PM |
| Gun control really does work | Dillon Pyron | Divers Hangout | 2 | 03-26-2007 11:35 AM |