scubish.com - HOME
 


Go Back   scubish.com - Scuba Diving Forum > Regional Travel and Dive News > Europe > United Kingdom of Great Britain & N. Ireland
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Welcome to the scubish.com - Scuba Diving Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2007, 12:19 AM
Graham Bowers
 
Posts: n/a
Default scam??

Hi All
Anybody else had an email from somebody calling himself Ken who infers he is
representing an organisation (but not saying what it is) asking for all
sorts of information about your dive club and contacts in order to be listed
on his new website? It was addressed to me at my graham@marlinsac.org.uk
address and is obviously targeted at divers. I'm sure there are ways of
harvesting email addresses from diving websites, but to address it *Dear
BSAC Member* suggests to me he knows I'm a BSAC member, unless it's a
standard spam.
Doesn't read like an altruistic enterprise to me anyway but I'm not sure
what the *scam* is!
Anyway, I've copied it to an unlinked page on our club website.
http://www.marlinsac.org.uk/scam.html
Thoughts?
Cheers
Graham
header is munged. replace nospam with bbowers36 and correct the spelling
mistake in freeserve



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2007, 12:19 AM
Keith Lawrence
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: scam??

"Graham Bowers" <graham@nospam.frzzserve.co.uk> wrote ...

> Anybody else had an email from somebody calling himself Ken who infers he

is
> representing an organisation (but not saying what it is) asking for all
> sorts of information about your dive club and contacts in order to be

listed
> on his new website? It was addressed to me at my graham@marlinsac.org.uk
> address and is obviously targeted at divers. I'm sure there are ways of
> harvesting email addresses from diving websites, but to address it *Dear
> BSAC Member* suggests to me he knows I'm a BSAC member, unless it's a
> standard spam.
> Doesn't read like an altruistic enterprise to me anyway but I'm not sure
> what the *scam* is!
> Anyway, I've copied it to an unlinked page on our club website.
> http://www.marlinsac.org.uk/scam.html
> Thoughts?
> Cheers
> Graham


Hi Graham

I can assure you that this is nothing to do with the BSAC, but it wouldn't
be the first time that address harvesters have been at work on our club
sites either.

Can you please ATTACH a copy of the original email in an email to me
(attach, don't just forward it - I need the email headers). If this is some
scam or just somebody trying to build content for a commercial site then I
would like to know about it if they are targeting our clubs. If necessary I
will put out a club wide warning about it.

Thanks for letting everybody know about it, appreciated.

Keith Lawrence
BSAC Council Member
BSAC IT Team Leader
mailto:keith.lawrence@bsac.com


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2007, 12:19 AM
David Walker
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: scam??

> Anybody else had an email from somebody calling himself Ken who infers he
is
> representing an organisation (but not saying what it is) asking for all
> sorts of information about your dive club and contacts in order to be

listed
> on his new website? It was addressed to me at my graham@marlinsac.org.uk
> address and is obviously targeted at divers. I'm sure there are ways of
> harvesting email addresses from diving websites, but to address it *Dear
> BSAC Member* suggests to me he knows I'm a BSAC member, unless it's a
> standard spam.
> Doesn't read like an altruistic enterprise to me anyway but I'm not sure
> what the *scam* is!


Yeah, we got that (subaqua@...warwick...). Never thought much of it - ours
was our public club e-mail address, so I assumed he just got it from the
details on the BSAC website. Is your address public on your club website or
on BSAC contact details or anything?

David


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2007, 12:19 AM
Graham Bowers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: scam??


"Keith Lawrence" <false@nospam.com> wrote in message
news:3fb7830e$0$52884$5a6aecb4@news.aaisp.net.uk.. .
>

Snip
> Can you please ATTACH a copy of the original email in an email to me
> (attach, don't just forward it - I need the email headers). If this is

some
> scam or just somebody trying to build content for a commercial site then I
> would like to know about it if they are targeting our clubs. If necessary

I
> will put out a club wide warning about it.
>
> Thanks for letting everybody know about it, appreciated.
>
> Keith Lawrence
> BSAC Council Member
> BSAC IT Team Leader
> mailto:keith.lawrence@bsac.com
>

emailed


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2007, 12:19 AM
Keith Lawrence
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: scam??

[My thanks to Graham for the email]

See http://www.bsacforum.co.uk/forums/cl...osts/1882.html

I'm treating this as SPAM or a scam until proved otherwise.

Keith Lawrence
BSAC Council Member
BSAC IT Team Leader


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eBay scam warning. Rudy Benner Vacation ideas 15 03-26-2007 11:31 PM
Dive site scam pugetsounddiver@gmail.com Divers Hangout 141 03-26-2007 09:06 PM
Heads-up - scuba scam Mike Ross Divers Hangout 9 03-26-2007 12:29 PM
Scuba Equipment Scam Cpt. Dale Bennett Divers Hangout 14 03-26-2007 12:23 PM
OT: warning about 194040 scam Michael C Australia 128 05-11-2006 02:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.




SEO by vBSEO ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.